Iowa: Emergency Powers Reform Bill Under Attack in the House Public Safety Committee!

On Wednesday, February 15 at 1:00 p.m., House Study Bill 18, sponsored by state Representative Clel Baudler (R-58), will be heard by the House Public Safety Committee.  An attempt will be made by anti-gun legislators, to remove the word “carryingâ€� from this bill referred to as Iowa’s Emergency Powers Reform legislation.  

HSB 18 would prohibit any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful possession, carrying, transfer, transportation and defensive use of firearms or ammunition during a state of emergency, such as occurred in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, Louisiana. 

Please contact members of the House Public Safety Committee and respectfully request them to support HSB 18 as written and oppose any amendments such as removing the word “carrying� from its current language.

House Public Safety Committee

Representative Clel Baudler (R-58) Chairman
clel.baudler@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Tom Shaw (R-8)
Tom.Shaw@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Bob Kressig (D-19)
bob.kressig@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-100)
mark.brandenburg@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Joel Fry (R-95)
joel.fry@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Chris Hagenow (R-59)
chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Jarad Klein (R-89)
jarad.klein@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Dan Muhlbauer (D-51)

dan.muhlbauer@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

 

Representative Steven Olson (R-83)
steven.olson@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Henry Rayhons (R-11)
henry.rayhons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Thomas Sands (R-87)
thomas.sands@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Kurt Swaim (D-94)
kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative David Tjepkes (R-50)
david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Matt Windschitl (R-56)
Matt.windschitl@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Mary Wolfe (D-26)

Mary.wolfe@legis.state.ia.us

515.281.3221

Representative Gary Worthan (R-52)
gary.worthan@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221